Rounder Records

Carlene Carter – Carter Girl (Released on April 7th 2014)



Carlene Carter – Carter Girl
Release: 7th April 2014


The idea for Carter Girl was to include material that spans many years of Carter Family songwriting in order to show the progression, and as a result, this album covers material from three generations of Carter family music, including two songs written by Carlene herself: “Me and the Wildwood Rose, “ and “Lonesome Valley 2003,” as well as old Carter family songs which have been updated/modernised with more country styling.

Don Was (Bob Dylan, Willie Nelson, The Rolling Stones) both produced and played bass on the album. The album features a stellar lineup of guests including Willie Nelson on ‘Troublesome Waters,’, Kris Kristofferson on ‘Black Jack David,’, Vince Gill harmonising on ‘Lonesome Valley 2003.‘ Other guests include: Don Was, Sam Bush, Elizabeth Cook, Lori Carter Bennett and others. (Also the final track includes old vocals from Helen Carter, Anita Carter, June Carter Cash and Johnny Cash.)

Watch Troublesome Waters LIVE here:



  1. Little Black Train [2:49]
  2. Give Me The Roses (while I live) [3:28]
  3. Me and The Wildwood Rose [4:30]
  4. Blackie’s Gunman [4:23] (w/ Sam Bush)
  5. I’ll Be All Smiles Tonight [4:47]
  6. Poor Old Heartsick Me [2:41]
  7. Troublesome Waters [5:18] (w/ Willie Nelson)
  8. Lonesome Valley 2003 [5:28] (w/ Vince Gill)
  9. Tall Lover Man [3:55]
  10. Gold Watch and Chain [3:17]
  11. Black Jack David [2:49] (w/ Kris Kristofferson)
  12.  I Ain’t Gonna Work Tomorrow [2:44] (w/ Helen Carter, Anita Carter, June Carter Cash, Johnny Cash)
For further information, please contact Sara Silver: 
+44208 265 0772